Jandi in Stitches

Sewing projects, ideas, successes, and utter failures.

All Around Sad February 15, 2010

Filed under: Quilts — Jandi @ 12:11 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Usually I am thrilled to let you all know where I shop, what I buy, and who makes a great what.  This, unfortunately, is not one of those times.  I picked up my Blush quilt from the quilter on Wednesday and only managed not to sob all the way home because my kids were with me and they already think mommy is crazy enough.  Did I confront this woman?  Nope.  Call me chicken.  I just can’t seem to bring myself to tell anyone that the work they did was so bad that my non-quilting friends could tell something was amiss.  A seam is pulled apart (over-stretching) and the over all design is shaky.  The amount of loops on the back is unbelievable.  Anyway, it really ruined my week and I haven’t yet been able to bring myself to bind that ugly thing.  (At least you can’t see the ugly quilting from the picture)  I did piece a new quilt, quilted it, and I am in the process of finishing up the binding (90+ inches to go!).

 

6 Responses to “All Around Sad”

  1. I was just looking around at all the quilting blogs when I saw your post…so sorry to hear about your quilt. Sending you a hug.

    I’ve never worked up the courage (nor the money) to have someone professionally quilt my quilt…I just do it myself, and it looks it! :)

  2. Tracey J Says:

    Oh no. I had a quilt that I felt was ruined once too… but it was just the wrong color green (mint green on a dusty sage background)… I was crushed. I’m so sorry.

  3. Deanna Says:

    The Ugly Alternative: rip the whole thing out. It has been done before, and is worth it. Think of the time-and-money investment you have so far. Don’t leave it unfinished or throw it away.

    I had a problem with a quilt just last week and very nicely told the quilter that I was not happy and why. We have worked out a compromise and I think we can go on.

    If you just can’t say something you just committed to switch quilters because you will never really be able to hand her something again.

    Good luck. Let us know how it turns out.

  4. Jandi Says:

    I am actually planning on meeting with the quilter tomorrow night. I am going to show her the quilt and ask for my money back. At first I was afraid I was being too picky, but I showed it to my LQS owner and she said I should demand my money back. LOL So that is what I plan on doing. Then I am going to pick out the entire thing and quilt it myself. Not ideal, but I can’t take it to another longarm quilter without buying a new back (the first quilter trimmed it when she was done), and I have no desire to buy another four yards of fabric for this quilt.

  5. Danielle Says:

    That’s really too bad. It’s a beautiful quilt. I hate when people do that, but you definitely should get your money back.

  6. Norma Says:

    OUCH!! I would have given her a piece of my mind, especially if I (being the non-professional) could have done a better job. I mean the point of paying someone to do it is that they are going to do a better job (and quicker) than you would. I’m glad you worked up the courage to talk to her. How did that go?


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.