Jandi in Stitches

Sewing projects, ideas, successes, and utter failures.

Easy Peasy Oven Mitt Tutorial November 8, 2009

I started out with this oven mitt and this fabric:

100_0987 100_0989

Yea, I know, the oven mitt is totally gross.  I swear I wash it but after 10 years or so it has lost what little charm it may ever have had.  It is time for something new and fresh.

100_0988

STEP ONE:

Take and old oven mitt and turn it inside out (it lies flatter this way).  Trace the shape onto which ever type of paper you have available.  I prefer freezer paper.

100_0990STEP TWO:

Cut fabrics large enough to cut out two of your oven mitt shape (front and back).  You need three layers.  Main fabric, Insul Bright (or 100% cotton batting), and your lining fabric.  Make a quilt sandwich and baste together using safety pins or your method of choice.

100_0993STEP THREE:

Quilt your fabric sandwich.  I lowered my feed dogs and used a free-motion quilting foot to quilt around the larger  print.  You could also use a walking foot and simply quilt a grid.

100_0994STEP FOUR:

Cut out your oven mitt.  Make sure that you cut one front and one back (cut a back by simply flipping your paper template over and cutting a reverse image).

100_0996STEP FIVE:

With right sides together, stitch along top and sides of your mitt.  You may use a straight stitch for this if you like but you will need to still zigzag stitch the bottom of the two side seams for added strength.

100_0997STEP SIX:

At this point you could fold over the ends (around the wrist) and topstitch and call it done.  I decided I wanted it a bit more decorative so I just turned it right side out and bound it using the single fold binding method used for quilting.  I cut my binding strip 1 1/2″ wide.

 

 

 

 

STEP SEVEN:  Bake, gift, or just enjoy!     ***Matching hot pad to come tomorrow-ish.****

100_1000

 

2 Responses to “Easy Peasy Oven Mitt Tutorial”

  1. Becky Gonce Says:

    These are great! I love the fabric…what line is it?

  2. I do not leave many comments, but i did some searching and wound up
    here Easy Peasy Oven Mitt Tutorial Jandi in Stitches. And I actually do have 2 questions for you if you tend not to mind. Could it be only me or does it seem like a few of the remarks look like coming from brain dead visitors? 😛 And, if you are writing at other sites, I’d like to keep up with everything fresh you have to post. Could you list of the complete urls of all your social sites like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?


Leave a Reply

