Jandi in Stitches

Sewing projects, ideas, successes, and utter failures.

Hot Pad Tutorial November 9, 2009

 

100_1011

I made this matching set today.  You can click on the Free Tutorials tab above to find the link for the oven mitt.  This hot pad was also very easy.  You can use your own block pattern or follow my tutorial for my block.

 

100_1001

 

STEP ONE:

Cut one 6″ square for center of block.

Cut four 3′” squares for corners of center block.

 

 

 

 

100_1002

 

STEP TWO:

Sew 3″ squares to your larger square from corner to corner as shown.  You can mark lines to follow with a fabric pencil but I am lazy and didn’t bother.

 

 

 

 

100_1003

 

STEP THREE:

Cut the excess triangles from each corner leaving a quarter inch seam allowance.

 

 

 

 

100_1004

 

STEP FOUR:

Press.

 

 

 

 

 

100_1005

 

STEP FIVE:

Cute two 1″ x 6″ and two 1″ x 7″ strips for the inner border.  Sew on the 6″ long strips to opposite sides.  Press.  Then sew on the 7″ strips to the two remaining sides.  Press.  Trim off any excess.

 

 

 

 

100_1007

 

STEP SIX:

Cut two 3″ x 7″ and two 3″ by 10″ strips from the outer border fabric (I used the same fabric as the inner triangles).  Sew on the short strips first.  Press.  Then sew on the long strips.  Press.  Trim excess.

 

 

 

 

100_1009

 

STEP SEVEN:

Layer finished block, Insul-bright, and backing in a quilt sandwich.  Baste as desired (I didn’t bother since they were so small.).  I used my walkingfoot to quilt a quick grid pattern.

 

 

 

 

100_1010

 

STEP EIGHT:

Once your block has been quilted, trim the excess.  Cut one 2 1/2″ by width of fabric (usually about 44″) for binding your hot pad.  Use the double binding method as you would on any quilt.

 

 

 

 

100_1011

 

STEP NINE:

Wrap up your completed set for a great gift this season or enjoy them in your own kitchen.

 

4 Responses to “Hot Pad Tutorial”

  1. jownby Says:

    Love it! The fabrics you chose are great too!

  2. […] It would be cool if you paired these up with a homemade oven mitt and hot pad as well. Check out Jandi’s blog for some great tutorials. Although I didn’t do it, you could always embroider or […]

  3. I just love this pot holder set!! I’m married to a Swede so everything blue and yellow are great for me and your tutorial makes it look so easy peasy to put this set together. I have to have a set like yours, I’m trying so hard to make my kitchen more Swedish and these will help! Thank you so much!

  4. Tricia Maria Says:

    I just found this online. Thanks so much, Now I know what I’m making for my friends for x-mas this year. thanks again !!


Leave a Reply

